QUEEN OF SHADOWS BY SARAH J. MAAS | BOOK REVIEW

Queen-of-shadows.jpg

Title: Queen of Shadows #4
Author: Sarah J. Maas
Series: Throne of Glass
Publication date: September  1st. 2015

Goodreads Synopsis: *MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS* 

The queen has returned.

Everyone Celaena Sardothien loves has been taken from her. But she’s at last returned to the empire—for vengeance, to rescue her once-glorious kingdom, and to confront the shadows of her past…

She has embraced her identity as Aelin Galathynius, Queen of Terrasen. But before she can reclaim her throne, she must fight.

She will fight for her cousin, a warrior prepared to die for her. She will fight for her friend, a young man trapped in an unspeakable prison. And she will fight for her people, enslaved to a brutal king and awaiting their lost queen’s triumphant return.

bookreview

RATING: ★★★★

I don’t even know where to begin with this review but let’s hope for the best.

It took me literally more than a year to finish this book and it wasn’t because I didn’t want to or anything I just never picked it up. It took me a while to do so mostly because I had heard mixed reviews and some angry people about a certain ship that I adored and well…that ship has officially sunk. It was painful to read and some of the characters felt foreign to me. I don’t know if it was because I had not been in the world for a while or because they are completely different but I will attribute it to all the things that happened in Heir of Fire cause man even from that point on everything was painful.

What I liked about this book was being back in the world and getting to know a little bit more about each character, especially their interactions. I think this is what I loved most about the book. I also liked how we got to see a much bigger and rich world that Sarah J. Maas has created. It was a bit confusing though but I think it was mostly because I had waited a year to read the book so …that’s not really a bad thing or an excuse. Also the pace of the book was really good. There was always something happening and well I mean the book is indeed 600+.

What I didn’t love about the book were Chaol and Aelin’s characters. I thought that Chaol’s character did a complete 180. He wasn’t the Chaol I felt in love with and the same goes for Aelin. She wasn’t the girl I once knew from book 1 through book 3 but then again it could be the fact that the situations that they were put in completely changed them or were meant to shape them into the characters that we got in this book. I didn’t hate it but I didn’t love it. The first half of this book was really hard to read because of it. I also felt like some parts in the book dragged but at the same time it wasn’t too bad.

What I did like and love about the book is how this world is bigger than I could have ever imagined. You have so many different characters who are all so different from each other but at the same time are the same? Or that’s what I think. I also liked seeing the court play all together. I love Lysandra, Aedion and Manon. OMG MANON I LOVE HER SO MUCH and Dorian. I never thought I would fall in love with Dorian but I did in this book. It was more of a huge concern for him.

Also, I know I said that I didn’t like Chaol’s characterization in the beginning but towards the end I couldn’t help but remember why I fell in love with him in the first place.

AND yes, I cried. I was freaking out towards the end of this book. I never felt so scared to read ahead. That’s when I knew that Sarah J. Maas has me wrapped around her finger and no one is safe.

Overall, I liked the book. I did have a few issues with it and it’s totally not perfect in any way but I will indeed continue with the series. I am currently reading Empire of Storms so we shall see how that goes. HOPEFULLY it doesn’t take me a year to read haha.

One thought on “QUEEN OF SHADOWS BY SARAH J. MAAS | BOOK REVIEW

Leave a Reply

