MAY WRAP- UP | 2016

I usually do these in video form but I am really going to try to do them written so here I go.

In the month of May I only read 3 books. I know it doesn’t seem like much but I am pretty happy with the books and the amount of books that I read due to the fact that I was pretty packed with work and just life happening.

17690486

The first book that I read was The School for Good and Evil by Soman Chainani which is the first book of a middle grade fantasy trilogy. This book was our World of World (WOW) book of the month for April. (WOW is a goodreads/booktube reading group that I am part of with 3 other people). For a middle grade book, this story had a surprising sum of darkness and depth. It questions the nature of friendship, good and evil, and it tells us that it is our choices in life that matters in the long run, that our nature is self-determined. I appreciate what the author tried to tell us in this book, I really did but I didn’t enjoy it as much as I would’ve wanted. As I said before I was having a lot of stuff going on that my reading enjoyment wasn’t up to par with the book. I loved the characters, well, some more than others but over all I really did love them. I will continue with the series but mostly because I want to know what happens next after that ending which was made it for me.

Rating: ★★★

 

23309634The second book that I read was Before We Were Strangers by Renée Carlino which is a New Adult/Contemporary set in New York. I’ve never been to New York but Im starting to understand why so many timeless works of fiction happen in a place like that. This love story is spanning over more than a decade, this is a story of two young people who simply met too soon in life to truly appreciate what they had found in one another, whose lives take off in different directions but eventually it will bring them back to each other, where they had belonged all along. I am always a sucker for these kinds of stories and this was the exact book that I needed to read at the right time. Matt Shore and Grace Starr met on their first day of senior year at college, and from the moment they laid eyes on one another, they became inseparable. They were both creative, determined and strong-willed, they shared quirkiness which made them perfect partners in crime and they always encouraged themselves to follow their passions and ambitions. But as everything goes up it eventually all came down crashing down and as their final year of college came to an end, their relationship too quickly falls apart, leaving them heartbroken and mournful of all they had lost forever wondering if they’d ever find such happiness again as the one they had found in each other’s arms.

Rating: ★★★★★

28438516The third and last book that I read in the month of May is Deception by Aleatha Romig which is a New Adult or Adult / Suspense book. It contains explicit sexual content so if you are under 18 I’d advise you not to read this haha. I can’t tell you much of this book because it’s the third book in a series but what I can tell you is that in this third book in the ‘Infidelity’ series, Alexandria’s life continues to prove to be ever more complicated than imagined. Betrayal after betrayal comes to light, revealing a complex web of deceit. The manipulations and lies are everywhere, with her own family seemingly controlling things from afar. Despite a few rough patches, this book shows Nox and Charli settling into a more stable relationship. However, secrets revealed about Nox’s business affairs may prove to haunt them yet. It seems that his life is not entirely his own, much like Charli’s. What made this book memorable to me is that there is so much more than meets the eye and that not everything is what it seems, just when you think you know where the story is headed you are hit with a plot twist. I will definitely keep reading the series or anything else by Aleatha Romig cause her writing and her characters are just so addicting.

Rating: ★★★★★

So those are all the books that I read in May. I also have them in my month wrap-up in video form in my booktube channel if you want to check that out.

Thank you if you have made it this far and please tell me what you’ve read in the month of May and if you enjoyed it!

 

Leave a Reply

