Book Review: The Sixth Domicile by Courtney Ruggles

thebook

28405871

 

Title: The Sixth Domicile
Author: Courtney Ruggles
Genre: New Adult, Dystopian
Publisher: Elephantine Publishing
Publication Date: January 20th, 2016
Kindle ARC
Rating: 3 stars

 

 

 

 

 

Blurb:

 

In a future ravaged by greed and war, The Domicile has emerged. A new civilization governed by clandestine Elders where citizens are united by white masks and uniform identities. To remove one’s mask, to go outside the Domicile, to show defiance, means being sent to the Meurtre, a horrifying death sentence.

Q437B doesn’t follow the rules. She craves sunlight, dares to love her childhood friend B116A, and–the most forbidden of all–has seen the true face of her beloved beneath his mask.

But when Q becomes an Adulte, The Domicile threatens to take away everything that makes her happy. She is forced to marry an abusive soldier who demands she conform.

Whispers spread about the unconventional lessons she teaches her new students. And when Q openly disobeys the Elders, the people become restless, questioning the truth of the world in the wake of such defiance.

Rumblings of discontent stir as others begin to follow the path toward their freedom. The Revolution has begun, and Q is the spark that ignited the flames.

bookreview

First of all THANK YOU TO THE PUBLISHER AND TO COURTNEY FOR ALLOWING ME TO READ THIS BEFORE IT WENT LIVE!

Over all thoughts I enjoyed this. I had my problems with it but I can overlook a few. I didn’t fall in love with it but it was enough to keep me interested and make me want to continue with this story.

This is a New Adult/Dystopian novel. Now, I know what you are thinking, WHAT? Well its possible people and it was good! I love Dystopian and I love New Adult so I have the best of both worlds.

The story begins with introducing Q437B and we can call her Q for short because they use letters and numbers for identification, which by the way is really cool. Either way, we start with Q who is this girl who has lived in this civilization called The Domicile. The Domicile is basically a civilization governed by Elders where the people are united by while mask and uniform identities. What I found cool about this is that the masks are different depending on which “Life Path” you are given. Also, you can’t take your mask off cause that would be defying the Elders and The Domicile so there is also that. You basically have no right to choose anything regarding your life.

When you become of age you are to marry an equal that the Elders kindly pick for you. This was where I was all OH THIS FEELS LIKE MATCHED AND THE GIVER BUT “ADULT”.  It really does feel that way and there is nothing wrong with that. After the wedding and all that stuff starts happening.

Q, aye girl where do I start with you.  My main issue with her was the beginning. She questions The Domicile a lot but she is a lot more focused and preoccupied to the fact that she won’t be able to have a life with B anymore. Oh B is her unforbidden love cause the Elder’s didn’t pick him for her husband, basically.  She was so whiney about that and so emotional that it was really frustrating at times. I wanted to tell her to snap out of it! Other than that, she was very brave and determined when she needed to be.

B, lacked character for me. I didn’t dislike him but I didn’t love him either.

QA, don’t get me started on him. >.>

I loved Q’s grandmother! She was so refreshing when she had a scene with Q.

The Second part of this book was probably my favorite and that is mostly because everything was making sense and the story was unwinding where it needed to go. It was fast paced and had no issue with it whats so ever. THAT CLIFFHANGER THOUGH.

OVERALL I really did enjoy the book and I am very excited to see what happens in the next book!

Leave a Reply

