Book Review: November Nine by Colleen Hoover

thebook

25092686Title: November Nine
Author: Colleen Hoover
Genre: New Adult, Romance, Contemporary
Publisher: Atria Books
Publication Date: November 10th, 2015
Kindle Edition: 320 pages
Rating: 5 stars

Blurb: 
This is a love story between a guy (me) and a girl (Fallon).
I think.
Can it even be considered a love story if it doesn’t end with love?
Mysteries end when the mystery is solved.
Biographies end when the life story has been told.
Love stories should end with love, right?
Maybe I’m wrong, then. Maybe this isn’t a love story. If you ask me…I’d say this might even be considered a tragedy.
Whatever it is—however it ends—I promised I would tell it. So without further ado.

Once upon a time…I met a girl.
THE girl.

bookreview

I don’t think I have ever read a book so fast in my entire life. Right when this came out I started reading it and finished it in 3 hours. I honestly didn’t know what to do with my life after I finished it.

I’ve read the blurb but didn’t quite get it so I basically went in blind and IT WAS PERFECT. There are no words to describe how much I love this book but Im going to try.

November 9 begins with us meeting Fallon O’Neil. Fallon was a child star before she was in a house fire that left her scarred and unable to continue acting. She is at lunch with her dad, also a former actor, and you can immediately tell they do not get along. She is bitter and hurt by his lack of regard for her. I loved Fallon from the first line just because she was just very aware of how her relationship with her dad really is.

And then Ben comes into the picture…Ben is a college student that overhears the conversation between Fallon and her dad. He decides to step in and be Fallon’s knight and shinning armor by  pretending to be her boyfriend. In those few minutes he puts her dad in his place and makes Fallon feel more aware of her importance as a person which is all it takes for us to get intrigued by this story and where this would eventually lead to.

Fallon is moving to New York that same evening Ben and her meet so they decide to spend the rest of the hours taht she has left together. Ben is in school to be a writer and during their first date the discuss him writing a romance novel. They then decide to write their own romance story. Together they come up with a plan to meet up again every year for five years on November 9. They will only have this one perfect day to go on they decide not to alter their lives. This will give them time to grow up and find themselves without giving up a possibility of something later.

I also love all of the romance/book references and how Fallon gets Ben to read multiple romance novels to help him with their novel. Plust there were so much cliches that we now and days see in romance books and I just loved that. The whole conversation they had about insta-love and how in romance books they write stuff like “you are mine” and “alpha-male” thing was just hilarious.

Ben is not perfect but somehow Fallon is drawn to him and he makes her feel worthy of any men. He didn’t see Fallon’s scars as ugly, but saw the beauty in her scars because they meant she was alive. Ben helped Fallon see herself different and believe in herself.

I don’t want to go into more details on how the story unfolds but I overall the story had me laughing and had me crying at points and it just takes off so quickly and before you know it you are halfway in and have no idea where the time went. This story takes getting lost in a book to a new level, just when you think its all over NO YOU ARE HIT AGAIN with the feels.

I can’t begin to explain how this book completely tore me up inside. Few authors deliver stories so beautifully written they feel real, therefore invoke unexplainable emotions and actions. This story completely broke my heart on so many levels. Then when I was finished I was at a loss and just wanted more.

SO GO READ THIS BOOK BECAUSE IT WAS AMAZING AND LOVED EVERY SINGLE BIT OF IT and Im not just saying that cause I love every book by Colleen Hoover.

Leave a Reply

